The Siege of Thorn High: a Reflection on Racial issues and Education Issues

The siege of Thorn High (also known as Pengepungan di Bukit Duri) is a new Indonesian film released in 2025 and directed by Joko Anwar, one of the acclaimed film directors in Indonesia. Although this film is a fictional story, it is based on the real events of the 1998 riots in Indonesia. The story follows Edwin, a new teacher at Bukit Duri High School, who is on a mission to search his nephew after his daughter was raped during the 2009 riots in Jakarta. After released on April 17th 2025, this film has become one of the trendsetter films in Indonesia following Jumbo, and Komang.

This film follows Edwin, Silvi (Edwin’s daughter), and his friend Panca who were the victims of the 2009 riots due to racial and majority-minority conflicts. Silvi was raped by someone, and them parents were killed. Eighteen years after the 2009 riots (in 2027), Edwin search his nephew by working as an interim art teacher at Bukit Duri High School, a dangerous high school in Jakarta. To search for his nephew, his journey is filled with brutal and tension – Edwin is mocked by his students, faces racial discrimination during his career, and involved a siege between himself, Diana, Christo, and Rangga against Jefri’s group. The climax involves a fight between Jefri and Edwin, and the ending is Jefri’s killed due to his faults and hatred of minority people. The conclusion shows Edwin being rescued by Panca after the riots at the school.

The Siege of Thorn High is one of the most brutal films in Indonesia. Joko Anwar successfully delivers critiques in Indonesia about Racial issues, conflicts between the majority and minority, education issues, and the disregard for arts by people. Furthermore, Joko Anwar and the team have auspiciously crafted each scene, from high-tendency cinematography, brutal fight and riot action, and predisposition story, to remarkable and oxymoronic soundtrack. This film also thoughtfully explores complex themes, such as racial issues between Chinese-Indonesians, majority–minority issues, marginalization of Chinese people to underground places, the victimization by local people, minority religions’ inability to pray freely without authorized from the local government and people, and the impact of cruel government.

In conclusion, The Siege of Thorn High is a bloodthirsty film yet a deeply critical film for Indonesia government and Indonesia people to address racial issues and education-art problems. It also highlights the importance of education and arts, and warning the abandon in these problems could head to the destruction of Indonesia. Since its released, this film has been well received by viewers and is one of the most impactful Indonesian films of 2025.