The teaching of information Technology is a standart part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being at the expense of more basic skills.

In our digital age, in most secondary and primary schools, gadgets are a standard part of the school program. There is a view that teaching IT skills can pose risks at the expense of more basic skills. I totally agree with this statement for several reasons.

On the one hand, IT has several beneficial sides for school children. They will have knowledge about using different digital computer tools from childhood; for example, typing on various kinds of keyboards. It may probably assist them in exams which are on devices. Moreover, technology consists of lots of programs and applications that require opening and using them by unfamiliar methods and codes. Therefore, in school years children should study about IT.

On the other hand, the claims made by those in favour of technology do not stand up to close examination. Many people argue that improvement of IT skills at the expense of basic skills can be damaging. Firstly, it could lead to significant harm from the erosion of literacy and numeracy. These skills are essential since they support not only academic situations but also a daily lifestyle. Secondly, it might gain consequences in reduced problem solving; traditional problem-solving methods play an important role in developing children’s intellect. Even though IT skills displace these experiences, students could perhaps struggle in emergency and urgent situations.

In conclusion, personally I believe that it will be way better if, in early school time, children explore basic academic skills rather than IT, since they may learn it in the future.