The tendency of news reporters in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that focusing more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is the harmful tendency of news reports on social platforms, which affect negatively on individuals and society. Personally, I partly agree with this suggestion based on some reasons that are elucidated in this essay.

On the one hand, the thinking of the negative tendency of news reports to cause damage to individuals and society is not completely accurate because the information of these content provides for viewers the amount of certain knowledge of social issues. Human beings are social creatures who desire to stay informed about the latest developments and trends within society occurring around the world. Social media, conveniently, can satisfy their needs for constant updates. By accessing timely information about urgent issues, individuals enhance their ability to safeguard themselves and navigate away from potentially harmful influences and negative situations.

On the other hand, there are some reasons that explain why accessing more problems and emergencies in social media would have a negative effect on people and society. Human beings tend to imitate the behaviors and ideas that they are exposed to, and reflect them in their own actions and thoughts. Coincidentally, media platforms are a huge source of all types of information and ideas for people to absorb. Regrettably, social media is progressively becoming avenues for spreading a significant amount of negative and unhealthy content. This type of content can have profound and direct effects on users, potentially influencing their mental well-being and their opinion in detrimental ways. For example, with the rise of cyberbullying on social media platforms, individuals, especially young users who are repeatedly exposed to toxic behaviors, such as online harassment or negative comments, may start to adopt similar behaviors themselves. Thus, the widespread sharing of harmful content can have a deep effect not only on individuals but also the society.

In conclusion, although the trend of news reports these day are focus more on emerge issues might harmful in the certain level, I do believe that people have completely enough awareness of these content and they know how to protect themselves through these news.