The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that nuclear arsenals keep the world safe and that nuclear energy is an inexpensive and environmentally friendly power source. This essay totally disagrees that these benefits outweigh the drawbacks because the downsides are the eradication of mankind and the destruction of the planet.

Believing that major powers having nuclear warheads pointed at one another is a good thing because it ensures superpowers will not go to war is foolish. This is because it only takes one mistake or a rogue commander to trigger a nuclear conflict, and this is a conflict most of us would not survive. For example, during the Cuban Missile Crisis, the United States and the USSR came extremely close to launching their missiles. This demonstrates that they are not the ultimate deterrent and nuclear war is possible.

The idea that nuclear fission is a clean energy source has been dispelled by numerous high-profile accidents at nuclear power plants. These disasters show just how harmful and long-lasting a nuclear material leak can be, and the contamination is not worth it when other energy sources are available. For example, the Fukushima disaster has polluted huge parts of the Pacific Ocean, and it has been reported that fish as far away as California have dangerous radiation levels. To make matters worse, solar and wind energy could replace nuclear energy tomorrow if there was the political will to do so.

In conclusion, this essay disagrees with the opinion that nuclear technology is beneficial rather that nuclear technology is beneficial rather than dangerous because the consequences of using nuclear energy in the wrong way are so catastrophic to both our species and the Earth itself.