The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nuclear technology is a source of clean and inexpensive energy and is assumed to be maintaining world’s peace due to it’s threatening effects. Though it has many benefits, this essay disagrees that it’s benefits outweigh it’s drawbacks. This essay will highlight that it’s adverse effects which are, threats to people living in a close vicinity to nuclear power plant and deadly byproducts produced when generating nuclear power, are much more than it’s benefits.

The location where nuclear power is being generated is a threat to human life. People living in a close vicinity has always threat of explosion of nuclear power plant which can happen once uncontrolled nuclear reactions begins. For instance, In Russia, in 2009, when there was a leakage in a nuclear power plant, there were thousands of casualties, principal reason being the minor leakage, for few seconds. Thus, people living close to nuclear power generating plant always in danger.

The generation of nuclear power result in unavoidable deadly byproducts. A small mistake in handling these byproducts can cause a huge damage. These harmful byproducts can mix with water and air resulting in deadly contaminated atmosphere which eventually make every existing being in the world to difficult to survive. The Times recently reported that no country has been successful in reducing the byproducts from nuclear generation. Therefore, nuclear power generation is a threat to the whole world.

In conclusion, though nuclear technology is a source of clean and inexpensive energy and it’s presence makes a country powerful when it comes to war. However, it’s adverse effects which endangers to human and the whole world overshadows it’s benefits.