The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though nuclear power is considered to be one of the most dangerous ways of obtaining energy and if not used under strict regulations has a permanent footprint, I believe that it’s better for the world to keep and advance nuclear technologies in the future.

One of the benefits of nations having nuclear weapons is keeping the world peace. A nuclear weapon is a highly destructive weapon which can destroy cities within minutes, eliminating the infrastructure, people and natural habitat of that area. That is why many nations are afraid to use them; if they use them, there is a risk that they will be bombed too. This fear is so strong that no one who is physiologically stable is dare to use it, thereby keeping the world peace. To illustrate, even though Russia and Ukraine are having a war at the moment, none of the countries are using their nuclear weapons because of their destructive nature and allies of these countries might use them, leading to World War III.

In addition, nuclear power plants are used to obtain one the most sustainable forms of energy. Using the heat and steam from atomic fission, generators produce electricity. This process does not cause any pollution as it has zero emission and leaves minimal waste. Although there is the risk of accidents and radioactive materials can be released, I believe that developing and funding further research in this field will help to adapt our planet and its habitats to this activity by controlling the whole process and minimizing the risks of accidents. As a result, it will lower the amount of fossil fuels burning for energy production and will reduce the emission of greenhouse gases, which will definitely have drastic benefits on our environment. For instance, most of the developed countries, like China, France and South Korea, have been using nuclear power plants as the second largest source of energy due to its advantages mentioned previously in this paragraph.

In conclusion, I believe that by advancing our research on nuclear technology, we will be able to minimise its drawbacks and use it for our benefit.