The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say the threat of nuclear weapons keeps world peace. In their opinion, atomic power supports inexpensive and clean energy. However, the benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. I cannot entirely agree with that opinion, because nuclear power has more disadvantages than advantages.

Firstly, large countries must waste significant money to contain atomic power; that is the main reason why the threat of nuclear weapons from large countries maintains world peace. Furthermore, there is a very high risk of catastrophic accidents. These risks can lead to a global ecological crisis for people living in areas with an explosion. However, I fully agree with the opinion that atomic power provides cheap and clean energy. Electricity generated by nuclear power can be switched to other sources, such as natural gas and oil.

On the other hand, as mentioned above, the disadvantages of nuclear power consist of some ecological and financial problems. Nowadays, ecological issues include bad air quality and water pollution, which can result from nuclear waste. These problems were illustrated by the catastrophic accidents in Nagasaki and Chornobyl, where radioactive led to damage to ecology and many people left.

In conclusion, while nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy, the associated risks and costs remain significant disadvantages. By the way, atomic energy is and will remain the strongest form of energy production to maintain world peace.