The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasingly many countries use nuclear power to provide themselves with a sufficient amount of power. Some believe that it is unreliable, and some contradict this belief. This essay believes that nuclear energy’s pros outweigh its cons, with negative aspects such as pollution and other health hazards.

A majority of countries have implemented nuclear energy use. It allows countries to mitigate problems, as an insufficient amount of energy dramatically affects them. Although it is profitable, it leads to many negative consequences.Pollution and radiation exposure are key disadvantages of nuclear technology.Overexposure to radiation can cause health issues, such as cancer or even mutations. For example, Semey, Kazakhstan, had a polygon where nuclear weapons were tested. As a result, it affected the population, as some newborns had defects, such as an extra finger. Furthermore, the government decided to close the polygon, which prevented previous hazards.

Of course, nuclear energy is important in some ways. If a country lacks energy sources, it can play a game-changing role in economic terms. For example, Kazakhstan purchases electricity from nearby countries, such as Russia, because it does not generate enough on its own. Consequently, Kazakhstan struggles to manage electricity prices, which affects the whole population. Researchers speculate that the addition of nuclear generators can impact the country positively, as other developed countries, such as the USA, the UK, and China, have those features. On the other hand, the major pollution issues that nuclear energy presents harm flora and fauna worldwide. The loss of biodiversity and rare species, which will not be recovered, will be drawbacks of this new income source.

To conclude, even though nuclear power is a substantial opportunity for countries to evolve, the other side of these benefits can cause harm, which brings even more problems that will be much more difficult to prevent.