The time for "humanity first" is over - perhaps we would do the rest of the species on the planet a favour if we became extinct ourselves. Do you agree or disagree?

The loss of biodiversity is an issue which has been hotly debated in recent years. While some people see human actions as alarming and harmful to environment, others argue that this is simply natural for the ecology to lose its diversity. Thus, proposers of the former ideology suggest that human beings need to go extinct to wash away the damage they caused to ecology, and let the nature to take care itself. Even though there is an element of truth in their statement, I firmly believe that eradicating people from the world might be an exaggeration. In this essay I will break down my stand.

Since the industrial revolution human’s actions became more threatening to eco life than ever before. We started to create factories everywhere, in order to meet the demand for materials deforestation started to take place in a rapid rate. This has resulted in animals losing their natural habitats and being forced to face the wildlife without having any proper safe shelters to live in. Environmentalists have advocated by raising a question “To what extent should we allow the damage to our flora and fauna?”. Furthermore, hunting and killing animals just for pleasure is also putting a strain to the development of animals, resulting in a lot of species becoming endangered or even going extinct. If this situation continues without being properly addressed, humanity is going to be guilty for what they have done to the nature.

Alas, we can claim the full right for owning almost everything in this world and use it for our needs. As the chapter from holy Islamic book – Qur’an says: “It is He who created for you all that is on the earth…” which insinuates that almost everything on earth is here to serve mankind so that they can fulfill their duties. However, it is critically important to emphasize that this chapter does not serve people as a license to reckless exploitation of the environmental resources. Meaning we must not waste anything that is given to us, which is crucial for sustainability of life on earth. As long as we utilize the blessings of ecology appropriately for gaining energy or performing our tasks, then we will be treating the environment fairly. What is more, we have to take constructive measurements for sustaining a sound life in ecosystem, instead of harming it. Because a human being can be thought as a double-edged sword, from one edge it does the actual harm, from the other edge, however, it saves the ecology. Therefore, we have to encourage people to take up more responsibilities to start helping the environment.

In conclusion, whatever we do, we need to make sure that it does not negatively affect the environments. By the same token, holding the humanity responsible for every possible catastrophe towards environment and declaring them to be totally evaporated from earth is a sweeping statement, and should not be taken seriously. In the end it is humans who make changes to the world: both life savings and threatenings, we only need to be attentive and careful of our actions.