The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Nowadays the tradition of families gathering for meals is losing popularity. It possesses reasons such as overtime at work and some individuals dedicate their time to personal pursuits, leaving less room for family interactions, however this phenomenon can transfer to the loss of family values and connections.

To begin with, the major reason why people don’t eat together these days is work overload. Both parents often work full-time and employers tend to require staying long hours on a working place. In addition, for example, in Russia children are overloaded with h/w, so they are not capable of interaction with their family members due to permanent tiredness and exhaustion. Secondly, with the development of IT technologies people tend to be involved in social media or computer gaming, shifting priorities on web resources. As a result, family relationships may deteriorate.

The decline of family eating has several negative consequences. Initially, this trend reduces opportunities of sharing family heritage. For instance, grandparents are not able to discuss their values and transfer experience to the younger generation. Therefore, young people may struggle to understand their identity and analyze their environment. Moreover, gathering relatives fosters trust and empathy. It’s crucial to have the possibility of relying on families, so people can seek emotional support. Without it, people can’t feel confident.

To conclude, the modern trend of not gathering with relatives can be attributed to the working and educational conditions that are time consuming and people often prioritize other matters over family dinners. Simultaneously with it, there are some impacts such as losing values and feeling unconfident.