The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Today, individuals prefer to eat their meals separately. This life style is attributable to some determining factors and could bring about many challenges.

To begin with, there are several reasons behind this issue. Firstly, parents often work full-time or non-traditional hours, such as those of shift workers, healthcare professionals, or emergency service workers. It’s tough to find a common meal time when everyone has different schedules and no free time. Secondly, modern society emphasizes individual pursuits and personal freedom. This makes it easy for family members to prioritize their schedules and preferences. For example, children and teenagers who participate in various extracurricular activities often have after-school activities, sports, and social commitments that can interfere with family meals, which makes it difficult to gather the family for a shared meal.

However, this issue could give rise to some problems. Firstly, families are using more convenience foods like processed foods and ready-to-eat meals because it’s easier to eat separately and at different times. These unwholesome foods are packed with calories and loaded with unhealthy fats or sugars. As a result, the increased consumption of unhealthy foods and the lack of essential nutrients traditionally found in balanced and home-cooked meals that promote better eating habits and overall health can lead to disruptions in overall health and development. Secondly, the meals are an opportunity for members to connect, share daily experiences, and express their feelings. Without this time together, the bonds between family members may weaken, resulting in feelings of disconnection and a sense of isolation among them. Therefore, the fewer shared meals have a profound impact on the emotional and social well-being of family members.

In conclusion, growing acceptance of individualism and personality attitudes are the most important reasons for reducing family shared meals, which leads to some fundamental complications.