The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Family gathering to eat meals is considered to be a familiar tradition that is descended over multiple generations to reach us. Currently, there is an increasing trend indicating that this habit is disappearing gradually. The reasons of this problem can be attributed to the effect of social media on parents and children and to the dissociation of new generations of parents from old traditions including family gathering for eating on the same table. In addition, the impact of losing this habit will affect the children development and family connection.

Initially, many trends on social media platforms related to individualism and people independency spread massive amount of information regarding the new dogma of living. The new ideology is embraced by a large number of people, leading to change in the behavior of large fractions of the society, specifically the recent generations of parents and certainly their children. As a result, an obvious abandon of ancient tradition of family gathering have occurred.

On the other hand, the effect of losing the chance of family reunion on a male is related to children development. As the family connection losing will result in multiple psychological problems. To illustrate more, many researchers have pointed out the significant of children connection with their parents as a part of brain lobes evolution. From my perspective, many traditions have evolved over thousands of years because they hold a remarkable meaning; therefore, if these habits were not beneficial, it would not be conserved until now.

In conclusion, family gathering to consume a meal is disappearing because of new trends spread on social media about individualism and traditions give up. Moreover, the impact of the recent ideology will affect the children development and family bonds.