The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In recent times, a number of individuals enjoying family cuisines under one roof has been experiencing a dramatic decline due to various factors responsible for this approach along with its long lasting impacts on both current society and future generations. This essay will elucidate the valid reasons contributing to this shift with its consequences in the following segments.

One of the prominent factors behind a decrease in traditional meals is a lack of knowing importance of eating together with parents and grandparents in young individuals lives. As families, in modern world, have hectic schedule in order to earn hefty amount to secure their future in the recession times, due to which they do not get enough time to cook and look after their children at home. This transition, in turn, might force young ones to purchase food from restaurants in absence of the parents rather than joining dinning table at home, eventually leads to not only weaken their ties, but also the disappearance of ancient eating habits.

In addition, teenagers, nowadays, prioritize more to share edibles with their peer circle while pursuing most of their time at colleges and workplaces. As a result, this phenomenon deprive them to spend moments with their parents. As an example, if children are not stimulated to dine together by setting some examples of benefits of family bond, there would be a loss of generation rituals and cultural values in human lives. Moreover, the fragmentation of joint families may easily take place in case of pursuing time more time on technological gadgets and with friends as compared to family members. This situation could adversely impact children’s holistic development and deter them to be responsible personally and socially.

In conclusion, although there are valid factors including human’s materialistic nature and hectic work schedules nudging families to share meals with their children, it is also crucial to strike a balance between personal and professional life that will facilitate to provide people a right direction and foster parental relationships.