The use of GM engineering is hardly new, but many believe that it can be a good way to solve problems with overpopulation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that GM technology is not a state-of-the-art method, others think that it is effective to tackle overpopulation. I firmly agree with the former view as I think that there are different types of ways to solve the population issue.

On the one hand, it is hard to deny that GM engineering could alleviate problems with overpopulation. Since GM technology has been created by many scientists and scientific techniques, it has provided low-price commodities to markets and grocery stores. Therefore, a number of lower-income groups have easily made a purchase various types of GM products. Therefore, it could be a significant approach, alleviating overpopulation and catering for disadvantaged people, which suffering lack of food in modern society.

On the other hand, there are other ways to solve the overpopulated issue. First and foremost, the use of GM technology is not a significant approach tackling population pressure. Although the number of people has been increasing, there is already sufficient amount foodstuff, so GM commodities do not need any more. Main task is distributing plenty rations to people in need. It is more important and effective. In addition, an overflow of population can be addressed through population decentralization policies. There are many mega cities around the globe, and they have an overpopulation problem. If governments introduced the policy of population distribution, many residents could inhabit wider regions.

While some people argue that GM technology can tackle overpopulation, I strongly disagree with that view as there are more useful measures. Therefore, governments should develop various policies to address this issue.