The use of illegal drugs, such as heroin and cocaine, are becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse, and what are some of the possible solutions?

One of the main reasons for this worrying trend is due to the fact that it causes a considerable growth in criminals as well as the spread of diseases. However, there are solutions readily available to tackle this issue, such as the government launching awareness campaigns and building rehabilitation centres.

To begin, there is an argument to be made that drug users are more likely to commit crimes. For example, in many countries, these people are often from a negative socio-economic background and do not have money or spend most of their budget on heroin and cocaine, which are normally expensive. For this reason, it is evident that once they are not capable of buying those substances, they may do illegal jobs to purchase them, such as robbery and burglary, or even worse, killing other innocent individuals. What is more, those who get addicted to the drug also spread a disease called HIV, which does not have any treatments and has a detrimental effect on humans. This being the case, it can be assumed that if they suffer from that infectious disease, it can put a strain on others’ security.

In order to resolve this troubling issue, one viable solution would be for the government to run stronger awareness campaigns about illegal drugs. For instance, educating the public about the harmful effects of these substances, such as by teaching about them in school or advertising them on the streets, Therefore, it is clear that when people are aware of the drawbacks of the dugs, they are likely to get away from them, which could reduce the spread of the disease. The government, furthermore, could build some rehabilitation centres for those who are drug addicts to help them become a functioning part of society again. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if this method were carried out, the crimes could be reduced.

In conclusion, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that the increasing number of drug abuse cases leads to more crimes and infections. However, it is still possible to turn the tide by starting campaigns about illegal drugs and constructing places for addicts.