The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in everyday life. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this development?

The increasing prevalence of social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter has changed the way that people communicate and connect with others. Although this replacement of face-to-face contact with online interactions has several advantages, the drawbacks may be far more significant.

On the one hand, there can be some minor benefits of switching to social media for their social interactions. One possible advantage is that online platforms allow instant contact among users. This is because they can send and receive messages without delay, which is convenient for those who do not have much spare time to arrange real-life gatherings. Another beneficial effect could be that social networking sites have made it much easier for us to keep in contact with our loved ones, regardless of geographical barriers. The illustration of this is that students who are studying abroad can keep in touch with their families and friends on a daily basis by using video call features of Messenger or various other apps, which can help them maintain and strengthen their bonds in long-distance relationships.

Nevertheless, the over-reliance on social media platforms for daily communication can have major downsides which overshadow these positive impacts. The most obvious issue could be that social media may reduce the quality of interpersonal communication. The main reason for this is that many people are addicted to social networking sites that they stare at their screen during dinners with their families without paying attention to people around them. Another drawback worth mentioning is that interactions are only conducted online over long term also can affect the style of speaking and writing, especially young people. These days, many teenagers have a habit of using abbreviated words, which are used in messages or in posts on social media.

In conclusion, despite potential benefits of using social media to contact, the drawbacks involved are of greater significance.