The use of social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact in everyday life. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this development?

Face-to-face contact is being replaced by some various kinds of social media nowadays. Although these media apps can have several disadvantages, the benefits may be far more significant.

On the one hand, there can be some minor drawbacks of using social media to replace face-to-face contact. The most possible disadvantage could be that when people contact on Messenger or Video call too much, they will lack of meetings with their friends or partners in life. This tends to miss some important ideas and implications that the opponents want to demonstrate in several conversations. As a result, people can not get clearly the information and there can be some misunderstanding for them, which is likely to make them struggle with their works. Another downside worth mentioning is that using some media apps can easily disclose users’ personal information. For instance, several media platforms such as Facebook or Twitter tend to force users to provide their information for their page to identify users’ account. This can make many scammers or hackers get these personal information to do illegal works.

Nevertheless, contacting on some social media can have several major advantages which overshadow these negative impacts. The first obvious benefit is that interacting with people on media apps can give them more flexible times to interact. The reason for this is that when people chat on some social media such as Messenger or Instagram, they can think carefully before they summit their messages. This can help users find exactly words that they need. The second potential advantage is that using social media can help some people who far from home to contact with their family or friends. For example, in Vietnam, some students who study abroad can not interact with their parents face-to-face, so that they need to use Video call or Messenger to talk and chat with their family. This may help both students and their parents feel more assured.

In conclusion, despite the potential disadvantages of using social media to replace face-to-face contact, they pale in comparison to the benefits involved.