The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is true that physical interaction is being replaced by social networking sites. While this development may be advantageous to a certain extent, I believe that its disadvantages are far more significant.

On one hand, it is understandable why people are pro social networks. This is largely due to the fact that individuals can easily and immediately contact each other, specially useful for long-distant relationships. However, this way of thinking is flawed because internet users, especially the younger generation, are often mistaken social media is an adequate substitute for real life meetings. As a result, more and more meaningless conversations will be formed, and people will ultimately be isolated from the society. For instance, researchers have shown that Japan is currently suffering from this threat because of the massive production of modern technological devices, including phones, tablets and laptops.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the minus point of contacting via internet eclipse its plus point. The foremost issue is the deprivation of safety. To be specific, large social media company like Facebook or Instagram usually illegally leak their customers’ personal information for promotional purposes, leading to the ubiquity of scams and online harassments. Furthermore, a lot of teens and adults are suffering from peer pressure or cyber-bullying. This seems to stem from observing others’ perfect lives on online posts making them anxious, depressed or stressed about their normal human being that it is actually a failure.

In conclusion, while the beneficial sides of overusing social networking sites can not be denied, I would argue that the drawbacks mentioned outweigh them.