The working week should be reduced for the working people. Give your opinion.

Some might argue that the average workweek should be shortened and employees should be allowed to enjoy a longer weekend. In my opinion, workers should be granted a shorter working week, as it can help boost their mental health and in turn considerably improve their productivity.

Firstly, reducing the days that an MNC or a corporate employee has to work is essential, as they often extend their working hours to 10-12 hours daily, due to an inefficient schedule. Furthermore, this can severely impact their physical and mental health, as long hours of work can cause stress. For example, recent reports from the crime records bureau of India indicate that the number of suicides due to work stress has increased significantly (by 10%) as people are expected to work for 12 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Additionally, having a four-day workweek will not only give people more free time but also improve their productivity drastically, because they will get an extra day to engage in their favored activities. Moreover, office employees who work in shifts can use the extra time to help reset their sleep cycles, which will help them focus better on their job. For instance, according to a study conducted by Deloitte, Japan has recently implemented a new working system which allows its working population to have a smaller workweek compared to other countries, leading to a 14% increase in productivity over the past year.

To summarize, with a significantly optimized schedule, a shorter working week will help the working people stay mentally and physically healthier, enabling them to perform more efficiently at their jobs. This will benefit the salaried community and also the organizations.