The working week should be shorter, and workers should have a longer weekend. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that the duration of the weekend for the employees should extend and their working hours should be reduced. This concept has its potential to promote productivity and also enhance the work-life balance . This essay is going to explain why this is a great idea despite it also having several negative aspects in some areas. .

On the one hand, staying for longer weekends can boost workers’ motivation by recharging enough their energy to for work. By getting enough rest during the break in the working week, people are able to have enough time to sleep and do exercise. Therefore, when they get back to work, they are more energized and focus more on their work. In addition, this concept also provides employees plenty of time to look after and spend leisure time with their family members as well. In some countries like New Zealand and the Netherlands, workers are allowed to work shorter hours and spend more time with their families. It promotes their well being and increases productivity in the workplace.

On the other hand, some workers could face financial strain, especially those who are paid daily or weekly wages. Another point to consider is the negative effect on the healthcare and education system. For instance, doctors would also work fewer days of the week, so a lot of patients likely face delays in receiving health care. Similarly, when teachers extend their weekend, students are not able to receive sufficient teaching and it might contribute to the failure in their study.

To sum up, I agree with the elongation of the weekend since it is of utmost importance for human health and the working performance. However, in some particular fields, there should be an alternative approach to balance the salary of the workers and effectiveness of work.