The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your statement

It is suggested that the weekends should be expanded and working hours should decrease, which I strongly agree because of its benefits.

By expansion of weekdays, employees’ satisfaction will increase because they will be given a chances to spend more time with their family and friends, which would result in maintaining a better work-life balance. If people had more time to themselves, they would have higher leisure time therefore better chance of feeling content. The more employees feel satisfied, the more productive they become which would be beneficial to company’s achievements. But if the working schedule remains unchanged, with the amount of workload and insignificant time to rest, it will probably cause burnt out.

On the other hand, not all time will be sent on recreational activities and family times, some could be invested on attending related courses, seminars and events in order to gain more knowledge and skills. If working hours end sooner, individuals have more time to raise their competence and be a more crucial asset at their working environment. Spending a dramatic time on work will create tunnel vision, which was proven to have a negative effect on creativity, as employees are expected to allocate a bigger part of their lives to their job, they will probably miss opportunities to enhance their skills in innovation.

In conclusion, with a decrease in people’s work hours, they will have more time to spend on their pursuits and loved ones, which would be beneficial for their level of satisfaction and productivity.