The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying more up to date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In contemporary era, people around the globe are using natural resources at an unprecedented level due to product’s inferior quality, and some people argue that higher authorities should deter individuals from purchasing modern and trendy goods. While this issue can be tackled without government’s initiatives by eco volunteering clubs or manufacturers themselves, I firmly believe that if government takes an action, the process will require much less time and help people to save their money.

In many countries, there are already existing volunteering programs for enticing people to lead a sustainable way of life and raise awareness. To illustrate, if necessary they raise financial aid and promote it to preserve nature or hold sessions regarding of significance of nature at schools or even in offices. Thereby, authorities can address issues that are more imperative. Furthermore, people who are truly concerned about our surrounding bring charges against huge producers to improve the durability of their products. Leaving them without choice but handle it, since if they will not, authorities might increase tax amount leading some manufacturers to face bankruptcy.

In my opinion, however, involvement of authorities might speed up the process. When politics be an example to the nation by implementing the action of preferring eco-friendly and long-lasting products, they demonstrate the significance of the issue. Consequently, it will be much easier for the nation to trust them due to the authentic news and examples given by them. Additionally, by fostering the culture of repair services the amount of waste in landfills can be depleted because individuals will not be needed to waste their time and money to purchase new item, instead they contact with repair shops saving their money and time. This action will promote to decease the strain on the nature.

In conclusion, although volunteers or business owners can address the problem of over consumption of resources individually, I believe when government gets involved the issue can be solved in a most effective way in a short notice while helping individuals.