The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying more up to date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Many individuals around the world are consuming natural resources at an unsustainable rate, which is raising various critical life concerns such as environmental issues, economic instability and ethical complexities. In this context, some argue that governments should discourage consumers from frequently purchasing fashionable products. I completely agree with this point of view. Furthermore, I believe that government intervention assists in addressing the issue more seriously.

Initially, one of the many reasons to overconsumption is the consumer culture and social pressure. Nowadays, people are easily influenced by advertisements, social media posts, and peer pressure; consequently, they constantly purchase the latest trends because consumers often falsely link this behavior to social status and success. Moreover, users’ lack of awareness of their consumption habits and companies which implement planned obsolescence, designing products that are meant to break and not last for a long time.

These are all factors which lead to increasing the number of overproduction and overconsumption. As a result, natural resources are at a high risk of depletion due to the practice of constant production, compelling consumers to buy fashionable and up-to-date products. Additionally, this cycle impacts significantly to pollution, greenhouse gas emissions and accelerates the volume of waste. Therefore, authorities can mitigate this by enforcing regulations that require products to meet durability standards, share awareness by supporting the use of sustainable items, and lastly by providing incentives for various businesses to prioritize durable design.

On the other hand, many support that frequent purchasing aids in economic growth and supports innovation. Others believe in the customers’ freedom; people should have the right to choose what they buy. However, it is essential to find a balance between both arguments and sustainability. The authorities should not completely restrict consumer choice but rather encourage them into the direction of environmental accountability and moral responsibility.

In essence, while the reasons for the excessive consumption may vary, they all mostly play a negative role in the environment sector and decreases the amount of earth’s materials which are hard to be renewed. Thus, governmental efforts in acknowledging this issue is of importance to raise an environmentally conscious society.