There are many reasons that can motivate a person to stay working for the same company.Some believe that money is the main reason. Do you agree or disagree?

The majority of people believe that money is the driving factor behind why people stay at the same job for many years. I totally disagree that salary is the primary reason, as most companies offer a similar amount of money for the same job, and location seems to be far more significant than monetary considerations.

One of the compelling reasons why people might prioritize location over money is convenience. This is to say, some individuals might live too far away from the workplace, making it arduous to get enough sleep or maintain a work-life balance. Usually, when this pattern occurs, employees are more likely to burn out or become less productive at work. By prioritizing a convenient workplace location, workers can tackle the root cause of their counterproductive behavior. For instance, data analysts in Almaty conducted research on the main factors that lead people to resign. The results showed that 79% of respondents in Almaty resign because they live too far away from their workplace, making the working process unpleasant. Generally, it is convenience that resonates most with people when choosing a job.

Conversely, wages cannot possess the ability to keep someone in the same job for a long time. The primary reason is that there is a variety of companies offering the same salary for the same work, but with different working conditions. This trend is likely to make employees choose the company that is most suitable in terms of career prospects, location, and schedule. Additionally, it is about human behavior, which pushes us to try new things or pursue a career in a different field – developing ourselves, meeting new people, and adapting to new environments. In contrast, while a high salary offers a quick but short-lived effect, the location factor works as a catalyst, guaranteeing consistency.

To sum up, although some degree of the financial aspect of a job might be necessary for workers, the locality of the working environment seems to yield far more effective results in making the working process enjoyable, thereby improving one’s mental health.