There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, technology has become commonplace in many developing countries due to the fact that it is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. While there are benefits for employees and students when they work and study from home, I personally think it also has some limited points for use.

To begin with, there are a huge number of benefits for both workers and students choosing this method of work and study. Firstly, people do not need to spend time travelling to school or their workplace as they can now easily access the internet at home to complete their work. As a result, people can not only save time but also minimize the risks and costs of using transport on a daily basis to commute. In addition to benefits that remote work and study brings to individuals, this trend also brings about positive outcomes for schools and businesses. In fact, schools and businesses could save a lot of money that would otherwise be allocated to the construction and maintenance of buildings and facilities. Instead, that money could be invested in enhancing other things, such as updating study programs, or other facilities that allow staff and students to work more effectively, and help to build up the reputation of those institutes as well.

On the other hand, computer technology has some drawbacks that should be taken into consideration. If people spending too much time in front of computer, they rarely have quality time for other outdoor activities such as playing sports or going to picnics. Furthermore, if people use computers to work and study for an extended period of time, they are likely to get eye diseases such as eye strain or short-sightedness.

In conclusion, I still believe that the benefits of teleworking are totally more significant than its drawbacks even though it has both plus points and minus points.