There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The role of numerous affects motivating individuals to anchor in the workforce has long been a subject much concern and debate. While acknowledging the fact that salaries are also a key contributor, I would contend that other factors can be equally influential in one’s decision to remain their jobs.

On the one hand, the competitive salary undoubtedly gives rise to a strong temptation. For one, who have a high demand for ensuring a well-off life, needing to fulfil an obligation to meet basic needs such as accommodation, education and food for their family. Moreover, in today’s modern societies, well-paid salary often associated with success, and for those who subscribe this notion, the big paycheck has seen as a symbol of personal achievement. This can be seen in thriving city in the world such as London, Tokyo and Beijing, the residents are drawn to high-paying roles for their lucrative and prestige.

On the other hand, there are diversity reasons to remain an individual in their profession. Job satisfaction, derived from a sense of purpose and passion, is a potent motivator. For instance, educators and government jobs, despite modest income, still stay dedicated to the job because of their meaningful contributions to the public. Furthermore, a comfortable environment where colleagues evolve into close friends, creating more opportunities for everyone to personal growth, skill development, and career progression.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the high-pay job plays a crucial role to anchor people in their old environment are irrefutable, I myself believe that the motivators ranging from personal passion and job satisfaction to social connections and professional growth should not be overlooked.