There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Work is arguably one of the most vital aspects of our life and much has been said about what drags us to work and many believe that money is the most crucial motivating factor. While the allure of money is extremely potent, other factors become just as important when one considers life beyond mere survival.

Money supports our livelihood. Survival is the chief drive of every biological being and society is organized around money in such a way that our means of continued existence is contingent upon making money. Another reason why money is central is that it can fulfil many of our desires. Almost every other area of life, such as entrainment, travel, and personal relationships, demands money and having enough financial resources can largely guarantee that our needs are going to be met adequately.

However, other contributing factors include leading a meaningful life and the desire for mastery. Individuals need meaning to feel their lives are worthwhile and we tend to have a higher purpose we serve. One robust source of meaning is work as one can contribute to society and feel a part of something greater than oneself. Moreover, getting better at something and reaching one’s full potential is highly rewarding and people love to develop their skills. Such a desire can be fulfilled through work as it provides myriad opportunities for becoming better and competent.

It is undeniable that money is among the chief reasons why people are motivated to work. But in a world where money might be considered the highest goal, other values such as social responsibility, contribution to society, and meaning tend to collapse. Thus, other factors should be considered just as important if not more.