Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, online games has become significantly popular among children. This essay will discuss why they are choosing computer games over playing with their peers like they used to do, and despite few potential benefits, this is a negative development.

With the outstanding improvements of technology, computer games has become more realistic and thrilling, which make them more desirable to children. As a consequence, rising number of youngsters spend most of their leisure time in front of screens, which eventually make them more anti-social. Most of them cannot maintain friendship in the real world so they become more dependent on gaming. Since there is a lot of danger outside, most parents do not want their children to spend so much time at outside. As a result, the safest option for them is to play computer games.

Although, enjoying computer games is seemingly good option for the children, I firmly believe this is predominantly harmful. Due to not engaging with their peers regularly, children are likely to suffer from mental health issues in their future lifes. By playing outside with their friends, they can learn human interactions and be more open-minded. Furthermore, another downside is that, devoting a significant amount of time to sitting still and being in front of screen might have a detrimental impact on their health. Doctors are warning people to not be seated for long time periods, because of cardiovascular issues. Subsequently, playing outside, getting fresh air, and being physically active are the safer options for children.

In conclusion, more children are becoming gaming enthusiasts. Nevertheless, its downsides can lead to serious problems. I think that, playing computer games excesivelly make children more introverted and can cause serious health issues.