In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast food. Many people think that it is good to eat traditional food while others believe that fast food is a good choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the growing popularity of international fast food has posed a threat to the survival of traditional foods. While some argue that conventional dishes are more beneficial, others are more likely to consume fast food. In this essay, I would shed light on both opinions before concluding that I advocate for the former argument.

On the one hand, there are good grounds for the belief that international fast food is more advantageous. One pronounced reason is the convenience and flexibility. Fast food allows people to eat immediately and whenever they want, since it is often processed and packaged. For example, many office workers tend to consume fast food from brands like KFC and McDonald’s or convenience stores such as Circle K and Gs25, because it allows them to avoid the hassle of cooking. Nevertheless, fast food might create detrimental risks to individuals’ health. As these processed foods contain a high quantity of fat, a consecutive and long-term consumption might lead to obesity, or even cancer, significantly reducing health quality and average lifespan. Moreover, nowadays, there are many local eateries serving processed traditional dishes, offering people with limited break time a sufficient meal at an affordable price.

On the other hand, I believe that traditional food is more beneficial in terms of both individual and societal aspects. Firstly, traditional food is more diverse. Traditional food covers various dishes from different cultures like China, India, or Vietnam, offering people with flexible diets rather than a boring meal consistently replicating. From a broader societal view, cuisine acts as the regional identity, since it reflects long standing history and traditions of a region. Therefore, encouraging people to consume traditional food is a form of cultural preservation. Moreover, promoting regional images attached with local specialities might attract domestic and foreign tourists, thereby developing the tourism industry, creating numerous job opportunities for local residents. As a result, economic growth would be strongly driven, offering dwellers with higher living standards. For example, Vietnam is famous for a diverse cuisine with featured dishes like Pho, Bun Cha or Banh Mi, which appeal to many international tourists visiting this country, making Vietnam a popular travel destination.

In conclusion, although international fast food is convenient, I contend that the benefits of traditional food remain more pronounced due to its diversity and economic values.