there are valid arguments on both sides, on balance, I assert that doctors, nurses and engineers should retain the right to work in the countries they want to enjoy financially rewarding jobs.

Some intellectuals argue that experts from the medical and engineering fields should practice in the countries where they trained while others oppose this view, submitting that they should be permitted to exercise their freedom to choose where they would like to work. Although the former opinion can be beneficial in terms of helping to build the economy of the professionals’ native countries, I believe that doctors and engineers should have the luxury to select where they would prefer to work to enjoy life and fulfil their dreams.

Examining the former opinion, the primary argument the supporters put forward is that the input of engineers and medical doctors would drive the growth and development of the economy. If doctors stay back to work in the regions where their training institutions are domiciled, they would help develop guidelines and frameworks that would help prevent disease epidemics and where these fail, prompt and appropriate treatment of patients would be readily available, accessible and affordable. Engineers would also help develop first-class road networks and ensure a reliable electricity supply. Countries like Ghana, Australia and Brazil have benefitted from this form of practice. However, these nations only represent a negligible fraction of this trend and thus, forcing health and engineering experts to work in their country of training cannot be deemed the most appropriate.

On the contrary, the latter view suggests that medical consultants and technologists should reserve the liberty to practice wherever they love and I am in agreement with this school of thought. Allowing them to exhibit their skills in their countries of preference, for example, in first-world countries like the USA, the UK and Canada would land them lucrative jobs so that they can enjoy life to the fullest. They would be able to afford luxury cars and state-of-the-art apartments. Nigeria is an excellent case in point. Thousands of Nigerian doctors and professional technicians are enjoying affluence in the above-listed countries, thanks to the autonomy of choice they had. This, thus, settles the discussion in favour of this body of opinion.

In conclusion, while there are valid arguments on both sides, on balance, I assert that doctors, nurses and engineers should retain the right to work in the countries they want to enjoy financially rewarding jobs.