There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The juveniles these days are under lots of pressure since they are expected to be well-educated and have good grades. Fundamentally, academic subjects are very essential according to the requirements of many companies so having a fully concentration on advancing personal academic levels is being appreciated. This results in an argument that the non-academic subjects ought to be removed in order to provide children with more time to pay attention to their academic subjects instead. If you ask me, I strongly believe that vocational subjects are still very important to the adolescents and I am going to provide my evidence in this essay.

First and foremost, extracurricular subjects help students to gain real-life skills and experiences. For instance, cookery provides pupils knowleadge of products, nutritions and advances their cooking techniques. Addtionally, we have physical education, a class which enhances students’ awareness of health so that they can participate in healthier activities in their lives in stead of playing video games or chatting with friends.

Secondly, the enormous amount of subjects at schools, believe it or not, not all of them are enjoyed and some students find them tedious. That is why adding some non-academic subjects to the school syllabus is a tremendous way to reduce the stress and boreness. Moreover, having a variety of subjects can clearly increase the opportunity of a specific student to find something that suits their interest and talent. Imagine there is a student with a magnificent gift with the violin but never know since his school does not have music lesson, what a terrible waste.

As far as I’m concerned, some academic subjects in fact should be the ones being removed from the schedule. To support my beliefe, I have an example. If a student was aiming to become a writer, why does she have to study maths and vice versa. School should conclude the students with the same goals in a class with a different schedule in order to maximize their success chances.

In summary, there is no doubt that the youths are under so much pressure but the removal of non-academic subjects might have a counter-effect. Instead, the mininstry of education and training ought to find a better solution to minimize the pressure on the future generation.