There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

In the past, many people used public places for resting and relaxing, but these sites have become too much noisy for such purpose. For us to restore the beauty of open areas in towns, we must first of all address the problem of sound pollution. This essay will look at the reasons for this problem and propose some solutions.

One of the main causes of too much noise in several public places in cities is concentration of amenities such as shops, malls, and parks in these places, which attract a large quantity of people. Many people talking at the same time in an asynchronous manner can generate a lot of noise, thus polluting the environment. The way forward might be to redistribute these facilities to different areas; this can reduce the number of citizens visiting these regions, and thus a reduction in the noise produced.

Another problem is that many cities in the world especially those in Africa lack good roads, and on top of that the majority of these towns have just a single road linking different parts of the town. This problem often lead to road traffic in public places, and out of anger, most drivers usually horn without need; causing annoying sounds. To tackle this problem, the government should construct alternative roads linking places in towns; this may decongest some roads.

A third cause of this problem is that there are few public places compared to the growing number of people living in towns. There are more and more people leaving rural areas to cities in search of greener pasture. However, some of these cities do not have many public places for relaxation, and so many people visit and overcrowd these areas. As explained in the second paragraph, people overcrowding can cause noise. A solution to this might be the construction of additional public places.

To sum up, the main causes of noise in public places are overcrowding and traffic. My view is that the responsibilities lies with the government.