There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment.What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

There is a growing trend towards evaluating students through tests rather than regular assessment. This essay will discuss the two main benefits of this phenomenon, which are improving student pressure, maintaining skills, and increasing competition among students. This essay will also discuss the trend’s two drawbacks: it reduces practical abilities, and it cannot judge proper assessment.

The major two advantages are that it improves students heat moment abilities and that it increases competition among the learners. To take an exam, teach pupils how to tackle difficult times, as they are required to maintain in the exam time that assists them to control themselves in the future. Furthermore, if all of the schools take exams, there will be an increase in contests among the test takers, which would be a positive sign for learners. To illustrate, in Bangladesh, all government educational institutions take final test assessments; hence, this country’s students tend to compete and participate in all kinds of educational debates.

On the other hand, the main two disadvantages are that it spoils empirical capabilities and cannot assess an exact evaluation. Taking exams reduces the number of students who are looking for only better results in practical thinking since they attempt to read the syllabus without the main concepts. Moreover, another disadvantage is that it is unable to judge the real assessment of students, although every educational owner feels that it is a genuine way. For example, in India, most pupils who get higher grades in school do not get a chance in medical colleges due to wrong assessments in schools. As a consequence, this trend will have a negative impact on students later lives.

In conclusion, exams appear to be becoming a more popular method for students to take exams than regular assessments. Although exams help students handle pressure and assist them to be competitive, they reduce learners tentative skills and create a lack of proper evaluations.