These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary school

In today’s society, there seems to be a downward trend of individuals interested in becoming educators, which is specifically evident in high schools. There are numerous causes to this development, and also appropriate solutions to aid this which I will discuss in the following paragraph.

With regard to the loss of interest in this profession, we could first and most importantly look at the undesirable working conditions. To be specific, these individuals working in this field, are typically underpaid, overworked and not appreciated by those in society. This is further proven by the fact, that they are commonly protesting throughout the nation for better standards and treatment. Additionally, the behaviour of children nowadays is not up to standard, and disciplinary action by teachers is often frowned upon. This leads to the teacher having to deal with students who behave poorly and disrespect the teachers integrity on a daily basis.

On the other hand, certain things can be done in order to combat this issue, and make this occupation respected once again. First and foremost, we can look to improving the benefits that one can expect in such a career. These can include longer vacations throughout the four seasons, in effort to combat teacher burnout. Furthermore, it would be ideal to make it more convenient for students to access teacher certificates in a less stressful way, which could also help improve the attractiveness of this profession.

Overall, throughout history being a teacher has proven to be a desirable and respected career choice. As a society, we must do our best to improve the image of those working in this field, by offering them the necessary tools to feel respected and comfortable in their workplace as they have the potential to make a big difference in the society .