These days, many people are moving to another country to live. One issue these people have is culture shock. What are the main causes of culture shock? What can people do to help reduce the impact of this problem?

In modern times, most people who have engaged in long-term travel such as studying abroad or mitigrating to different countries is significantly increasing. Culture shock, a common issue when transitioning to a new culture, is primarily caused by differences in language and lifestyles. This essay will explain the main reasons for culture shock and suggest some effective strategies to lessen its impact.

In fact, one of the biggest reasons for culture shock is the languge barrier. Most people, having a tendency to study abroad or settle down for the long-term, may not know the local language well. This brings about difficulties in communication and can causes frustration. For example, inability to engage in daily conversations with local people to integrate yourself into their culture. As a result, newcomers are likely to suffer from the sense of isolation without having help. Another important cause is disparities in lifestyles between the hometown and the host country. Traditions and social norms in a new country may completely cause huge misunderstandings. For instance, in Spain, people take a short nap after a lunch as a long-standing tradition, which can make visitors from other countries surprise. However, expatriates considers this as a sign of stagnancy and reduced efficiency. Thus, the contrary between daily routine can confuse habitats of new immigrants and this requires time to adjust their habits.

Besides, there are a number of viable ways to tackle this obstacle. First of all, learning about local language before moving. If you know more about the language barriers, it will help you manage your expectations and prepare for the differences. Secondly, researching the country’s culture and traditions can help people prepare for differences. Finally, they should build relationships with their neighbors and making new friends can help foreigners feel more comfortable in their new environment.

In conclusion, culture shock exists as a complex challenge for individuals who move to a foreign nation. But by learning the language, understanding the culture and building the relationships, they can adapt everything quickly and enjoy life in new place.