These days, people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, career shifting from one job to another has become common among people. They prefer to experience different professions in their life spans. However, this occupational shift has certain merits and demerits. In this essay, I will discuss some benefits of changing careers along with the possible drawbacks that might occur.

First and foremost, moving from one placement to another has the possibility of better opportunities. To elaborate further, this can give a person the chance to better utilize their skills and, in return, gain finer rewards in terms of income. For instance, a huge proportion of young adults are shifting from corporate jobs to freelancing and earning twice with the same skills.

To further enlist the benefits, a change of career tends to broaden the vision for the person. Having said that, relocation of working environment not only teaches someone to cope with new challenges but also allows them to learn from different peers. As an illustration of that, during my internship period, my shift from one wing to another led me to decide the accurate research path.

Nonetheless, this switch also has some downsides among which the risk of career failure is worth mentioning. Although, before leaving their previous job, people tend to hunt for the next desirable one, still they could never be assured about the circumstances. And this can even cause some mental problems among people, among which depression is the most highlighted one. Moreover, in many cases, people find it challenging to adjust to the new conditions which hurdle their performance. This can negatively affect their brain and their ability to work with enthusiasm.

In a nutshell, working in more than one field is never easy. One needs to weigh up the pros of getting better opportunities and experience, and the cons of possibility of failure and depression. Personally, I believe that sometimes risks are worth taking and a single chance has the potential to alter one’s life in a better way.