These days there is a growing trend among people to leave their jobs and return to education. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, a large number of individuals are quitting their jobs to pursue education, which can be attributed to their desire to upskill themselves to gain lucrative opportunities in the future. From my perspective, there is more to gain for these people than to lose and the following essay will elucidate in detail the various reasons for the same.

On the one hand, the decision to leave your job to gain higher education can be significantly life altering as it disrupts your set ways of working in a routine and disconnects you from the corporate world. It is said that it is hard to switch back and forth from study to work mode. This can pose as a looming threat of employment opportunities in the coming days. Moreover, hampering your possibility of an increment or promotion is also a distinct drawback of this step. For instance, if a working professional who has slogged for years at a company, decides to quit mid-way, there are high chances of him losing out on the promotion of his dreams.

On the other hand, opting to move out of a professional setting and transitioning into a learning environment can positively impact a career-driven individual’s growth immensely. It is always a good idea to gain more knowledge, which can open up a myriad of career choices before you, because of the expertise you achieve in your courses. On top of that, education today is a mix of both theory and practical learning, that enables you to have the best of both worlds. Additionally, it is best to upskill yourself when you feel you are in a dead end job. This can be exemplified by today Gen Z are quitting jobs within less than 6 months. This highlights that one should explore all paths before aligning with the final one. Clearly, this is an ideal case in point to advocate how learning augments this decision-making for all.

In conclusion, the merits of leaving work to choose education, have offset the demerits, as it not only expands your horizon of knowledge but also enables you to explore a different path in your career.