Throwing parties can be expensive. While some people do not find this fancy parties worth what they cost, other believes parties are important to both individuals and the society

People choose to throw parties for a number of several reasons. For starter, parties can make better teams. Project kick-off parties are good opportunities to break the ice and help team members to know each other better. Victory parties create a sense of success and belonging. Companies do not see parties as wastes of money and allocate budget to support such events. Moreover parties often leave good memories. From our own experience, we all have happy memories from our birthday parties when we are little. Every family has great photos took on family parties in their album. In addition, contrary to what some people believe in spending of parties is waste of social resources, parties actually create value, either by employing people in the party planning business or by offering people better party experience.

The popularity of parties, however causes some tension in the society. Parties are hard to introverted people who find themselves uncomfortable in parties. There are other ways to celebrate important events that may have greater value for their cost. For instance successful projects and parents could take their children on family trips to celebrate their birthdays.

In my opinion, while a party is a form social event that brings many benefits to individuals and society, other choices should also be considered either to cut spending or relieve the stress of those who are not fond of parties.