Time moves in one direction, memory in another. What would you choose to lose all your old memories or not to be able to get new ones? Why? If you lose your memories, are you still the same person? Why? What memories would you never want to part with? Why?

Every single day we create new memories while living our daily lives. When time moves forward, our memories move backwards, even when we don’t understand it.

To begin with, the choice of losing all memories or never creating new ones is enormously difficult for me. However, at this point in my life, I would choose losing all my memories over never getting new ones and I can explain why. First of all, I’m only 15, and I believe that I have my whole life in front of me , so I’m capable of getting a lot of new, incredible memories throughout the future years of my life. I know that losing all the previous memories can be quite painful, but I can record all the memories which I want to keep. Secondly, there were a few moments in my life which I crave to forget and wipe out from my life for a better future. These memories bring me pain and struggle,all the time I know that thanks to them, I grew mentally and some parts of my personality are built on them, however, I’m ready to throw them to the lions to get new ones.

As for me, even after losing all your memories in adulthood, you can still be the same person, especially when you have your relatives, who can help you to re-establish your identity again. Also, at the older age your mentality and memories are more stable, so I belive it’ll be really hard to lose your identity after losing the memories. We can also confirm this by remembering that throughout our life, we have already lost a bunch of them, and we’re still the same person. I strongly believe when we forget about different moments from our lives our identity doesn’t change a lot, moreover, we can become an even better person.

In my life, I had a lot of enormous memories, which I wouldn’t like to part with, for example, memories from when I was in Ireland. I’ll even call it a series of memories. When I was there, it was a really hard time of my life, but at the same time I got there a lot of new friends and an unbeliveable experience of living in a foreign country for 10 months. To this time I keep in touch with my coaches and friends from there. Thanks to them, I changed a lot in a good way and got an opportunity to feel myself as a part of something valuable.

To put everything in a nutshell, I’m convinced that we can still be the same person without old memories, however, it’s almost impossible to develop mentally and as a better person without new ones.