''To reduce the pressure of learning at school,it is recommended that english and foreign languages should not be included in the compulsory subjects of the gcse examination''

It is common that English or international languages have become compulsory subjects in the curriculum of many institutions worldwide. Some believe these subjects should be optional for students to alleviate the pressure of learning at school. From my perspective, although the benefits of learning a foreign language are numerous, I firmly support the statement for some reasons explained in this essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that English, or overseeing languages allows us to access diverse professional paths and gain valuable knowledge. First and foremost, in the competitive labor market today, being excellent in an international language is an advantage, helping candidates to compete with their rivals. It is true that besides in-depth knowledge related to their position, employees need to have language skills to meet the requirements of an international company. In addition, youngsters with linguistic ability tend to get a well-paid job compared to others. Secondly, the knowledge gained from studying language helps to enrich students’ understanding of the culture and customs of this nation. Especially for students with a desire to study abroad, learning that country’s language not only serves as a means of communication but also equips them with essential information about people and life in this area.

However, integrating English and foreign languages into the curriculum can lead to some adverse problems. The major reason is that forcing children to learn another language may cause unnecessary stress and boredom. As a result, they lose their interest in learning the language, which results in poorer academic performance. Furthermore, instead of becoming a compulsory subject, it is better for English to be optional, which is based on the learner’s purpose and future career. As a consequence, pupils will have available time to concentrate better on their domains, helping them become experts in their professional path.

To summarize, I believe that language is a valuable skill helping us in both real-life communication and jobs, nonetheless, they should not be included in compulsory subjects.