To reduce urban congestion, some cities are considering banning all private vehicles from their central business districts, replacing them with automated public shuttle systems. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary sociey, a number of cities are eccentuating a new policy whereby indigens would be disallowed from driving their own cars, in replacement, boarding public tranport or bicycles is adviced. In my candid opinion, I strongly believe this is to be a negative development, and the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, this being my educated stance on this conversation. This essay will examine this topic from both perspectives in respect with societal nuance, giving detailed reasons how the drawbacks often superceed the advantageous benefits.

On the one hand, the first point is, implementing policies against urban congestion through this manner of approach might be pivotal and would lead to a better outlook on society; however, a policy of this threshold would cause overcrowding at bus stops, transit stations and bicycle stands, leading to even more congestion at public spaces. Recent studies, as reported by The Newtimes Researchers, provide empirical evidence showing that citizens are more productive and timely to their destination provided that they are mobile and have ownership of a primary means of transportation without constraint.

Boarding public transport services, on the other hand, comes with its unique liabilities. For example, it inhibits swift movement within the eco-system. In addition, citizens, in patronizing public transit, would now have no control over the exact time they arrive at various destinations as some bus stations often defer timestamps earlier agreed upon. Workers, as well as students, will go late to work and school upon implementation of the new policy for this exact reason.

In conclusion, although the perks of the newly instilled policy might be glaring, the pervasive effects such as, arriving late to destinations, still persist. The right regulatory bodies such as, government agencies should be tasked with the obligation of implementing a newer policy in mitigation of these defects for the holistic development of citizens and the society at large.