To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

Some said that social media has brought adverse influence to the society. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement as despite the socital damge of social network, it also have positive impact that should be taken into consideration.

It is true that the born of social media has been negatively affected people lives. First and foremost, cyberbullying has been intensified due to social media’s anonymity. These online platforms are essentially built an anonymous identity for users, and some fully take adavantage of that to harrass or cyberbully people. Although everything is online, the repercussion of it is presently in the reality. It has led to several unwanted impacts to the victims of online harrassment, some are fatal. Moreover, certain individuals are blindsighted by the pretentious presence of their virtual profile. Social media are so addictive that makes people get stucked into it and get lost of their actual life. Some people are drawn into trouble due to the glamour of the virtual world unconciously.

Despite everthing stated, there are some positive aspects of social media. The born of social media has narrowed the gap between people and strengthen the interpersonal relations. In the past, distance was an obstacle for keeping contact as there was no means of communication and people could not stay up-to-date about each other. With the Internet and social media, people can get in touch rapidly and connect to people from all over the world, regardless the distance. Furthermore, social media, when it is used correctly, can be an effective way of expressing one’s self. Everyone has the desire to express their personality, thus, it would be a great opportunity for people to be more relaxed and connected with the world/

In conclusion, the social media might be harmful in some aspect but the positive propositions should also be considered.