Today a lot of different cultures and ethnic groups live together in one country. Why is this so and do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a number of various cultures and ethnicities coexist together in a same region. Personally, I am convinced that this is a beneficial development and I would like to express my thoughts.

To begin with, centuries ago it was not as widespread for people of different cultures to live in one place as it is now. It became possible with the phenomena of globalisation that unites our entire planet. These days it is absolutely normal to move abroad to work, study or just to live. Moreover, individuals are allowed to follow whatever religion they are inclined to.

In my opinion, this is an absolutely beneficial development. It teaches people of all ages to respect and appreciate foreign cultures. For example, it may be unusual for an elderly person, who has spent whole their live among Japanese, to communicate with a British. Therefore, if a child is taught about other ethnic groups from an early age and has a real-life example, a possibility to get to know those, they will not have such problems years after. This will benefit an individual, as in our century, because of globalisation that I have already mentioned, the ability to properly communicate with foreigners and do not discriminate them is a must. Besides, getting to know people of different ethnicities and cultural backgrounds will surely broaden one’s horizons.

In conclusion, although some individuals are persuaded that various cultures and ethnic groups living together is a negative occasion, I am sure that it is more of a positive. This is beneficial for individuals lives due to how the world works nowadays.