Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

In modern society, an increasing number of juveniles choose to engage in screen time entertainment instead of outdoor activities. This is because electronics provide much more diverse and interesting activities than sports, and this is a negative development because children will suffer from numerous health issues from staying inactive for too long.

Youngsters choose games over sports because electronics offer a more interesting experience. In the world of gadgets, you can be anything from Bill Gates 2.0 to a lonely old farmer, whether sports, which follows a concrete set of rules with no variations, will be much less entertaining. Games can have many different genres and because of that, it is more interesting, challenging, and also more rewarding when you complete a task. Because of this, games have become much more well-received than sports. For example, a recent research conducted by Professor Enyu found that less than 3% of children surveyed would choose sports over games. This shows just how popular games are compared to sports.

This is a dangerous and unprecedented development. Why? Because when children spend much less time doing physical activities, it can cause them to suffer from many health problems. Staying inactive can cause obesity due to the accumulated fat and nutrients that are not used, and staring at a screen all day can damage their eyes to an unprecedented extent. In addition, these activities can alter one’s sense of time, and that can cause days to turn into night, breakfast into dinner, and days to blur into each other. For example, a survey conducted by Professor Foltyn showed that out of 200 juveniles who spend 9 hours a day on their computers, 191 suffer from obesity and 176 have various eye problems.

In conclusion, electronic gadgets offer a great experience for children, and because of that, it is addictive, which results in many health problems such as obesity and eye malfunctions.