Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

Urban population does not really know their next-door neighbors up close, let alone more distant ones. This situation can cause several problems such as their inability of forming a sense of community, and this essay will explore ways to mitigate this trend.

One of the challenges arising from the lack of a decent connection between neighbors is the possibility of isolation from the member of a neighborhood. When residents live in their apartments ignorantly, they are likely to miss out on wedding or birthday parties that are held by their neighbors, who share joy and enthusiasm on these days. The emergence of disturbing noise at night can also be attributed to this behavior, which is especially a fundamental problem in urban apartment blocks. People throw parties during their neighbors’ sleeping hours if there is not a good bond between them. Furthermore, people cannot trust their property or their kids with their neighbors unless they have formed a good relationship with them. We do not know what life has in store for us: having a sense of camaraderie with humans residing in the same area can come in handy in tough times.

To alleviate the issue, a set of measures should be taken. Firstly, holding regular community events – open festivals, concerts, and trade fairs – enable participants to get acquainted, possibly letting next-door neighbor meet with one another. Moreover, inviting people who live next-door as guests during parties can help them to form a relationship in large cities, or paying a visit to different apartments at the weekends at least, does show its benefits.

In conclusion, while people living in metropolises may suffer from a wide range of problems – social isolation and trust issues – due to the lack of interaction between residents, the way forward involves organizing get-together events and visiting neighbor’s house on Sundays.