Today more people are overweight than before. What are the causes and effects of this?

Nowadays, the number of overweight people is constantly increasing. These problems can be caused by many factors, such as overconsumption of junk food, sedentary activities, and so on. This essay will explain the main causes and effects on people.

In my opinion, the causes of overweight are due to two major factors. The first factor is that people are more likely to have unhealthy diets. In other words, people consume high calorie and high fat food while involving in inactive lifestyles.

The second factor is having sedentary lifestyles. These days, people pay more attention to things that are convenient to them and pay less attention to what they consume, which leads to overconsumption. Also, some employees mostly spend their time working, spend time traveling to their workplace by vehicles, and only a few employees choose to walk to their workplace. In addition, some individuals prefer to work from home than at other places. Therefore, people are having less body movement by working from home. This results in burning fewer calories and gaining weight.

These factors can have several harmful effects on individuals. Overweight and obesity are the main reasons for physical diseases, such as high blood pressure, diabetes, and heart problems, and can even result in heart attacks. Furthermore, being overweight can also cause individuals a mental illness because they are likely to have less self-confidence to interact with others and be more introverted.

In conclusion, obesity is a big problem that affects individuals these days. The main causes are overeating fast food and a sedentary lifestyle, which leads to many health problems and even a mental illness. People should take notice of overweight problems for good health in the future.