Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Nowadays, a significant number of people have become obese than before. This essay will discuss the main reasons of this epidemic and then describe the possible effects of this problem.

In my opinion, the foremost causes of obesity are insufficient sleep and high amounts of stress. Regularly getting less less than 7 hours of sleep per night can affect the hormones that control hunger urges. Thus making it more likely for one to overeat or not recognize the body’s signals that a person is full. Also, long-term and even short-term stress can affect the brain and trigger the body to make hormones, such as cortisol, a hormone that controls energy balances and hunger urges. A change in these hormones can make you eat more and store more fat.

However, the possible effects of this epidemic are increased risk of health illnesses and psychological problems. People who are overweight are more likely to develop a number of potentially serious health issues such as heart disease, stroke, and type 2 diabetes. For example, excess weight gain can affect the way the body uses insulin to control blood sugar levels, thereby increasing the risk of insulin resistance and diabetes. Weight gain is also closely linked with psychological problems such as depression, anxiety, and low-esteem. For instance, people who are obese are more likely to suffer from prejudice and discrimination in schools, workplace, and retail shops.

In conclusion, more people have become obese due to insufficient sleep and high amounts of stress. This results in increased risk of health illnesses and psychological problems.