Today more people are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic on people and society?

Nowadays, rate of overweight part of population are increasing with unprecedented speed. The main cause can be seen in more sedentary lifestyle and this issue can be resulted in significant damage to the mental health of this individuals.

Firstly, a more sedentary lifestyle can be considered as the primary reason of an increase in the number of obese persons. People are using less physical power for earning money in comparison to the past. As a consequence, they are becoming less physically active, which is leading to the rising amount of fat in their body. This change in lifestyle is happening due to the recent advancements in technology and automatization. In particular, the proportion of people, who do not even need to go out of their home to earn money, is growing from day to day. Another reason can be seen in automation of some routine tasks in humans’ everyday life. Things such as paying bills, shopping something and buying food can be done in minutes using computers or even smartphones. As a result, the need for body action is reducing more and more, which blocks fat burning in human organism. To show an example, the recent study of Harvard University can be observed. The study revealed that the considerable amount of population became less physically active in almost 4 times in comparison to 10 years before.

On other hand, this problem can badly affect people’s mental health. People with excess weight tend to be more concerned about their appearance, which often results in anxiety or even a depression. It also impacts the overall level of life satisfaction of these individuals. Society can be damaged if there are a lot of depressed or unsatisfied people. In particular, persons with low level of self-satisfaction are more likely to be angry or in bad mood, which may lead to the unwanted situations between members of society, such as an argue or even a fight. For instance, research held in 2020 in the UK by the health organization, shows that overweight individuals are tend to be more aggressive and harmful for the society than ones with better physical conditions.

In conclusion, the recent rise in amount of the people with excess weight is happening due to inactive lifestyle and has a bad effect on overweight people’s mental well-being.