Today more people put their private information (address, telephone and plastic card numbers) online to do their daily activities (banking, shopping, socializing). Is it a positive or negative development?

The prevalence of using personal information on the Internet has become significantly important for individuals, as they are able to perform daily tasks through digital platforms. Despite some conceivable benefits, this development is mostly negative due to its detrimental effects on users.

Granted, the convenience of such a way of utilizing information is evident. Numerous individuals in many parts of the world now can complete their daily tasks effortlessly and simultaneously, thanks to the development of state-of-the-art digitalization, since it has significantly eliminated the need for physical travelling, saving time and resources. This can be seen in the way that individuals are enabled to trade, purchase, and stay in touch with friends and relatives with ease in a bit second with only just a click or touch regardless of temporal and geographical barriers, which are difficult to achieve in the past.

Nevertheless, there are some pressing concerns resulting from the shift towards online data usage, especially cybercrime and advertising. Regarding the former, as personal data proliferates online, many users can easily be lucrative targets for potential cybercriminals, leading to an increase in illegal endeavours such as blackmail, identity theft, or financial fraud, all of which can damage their creditability and reputation. Another issue is the potential exposure of private information for targeted advertising. While seems innocuous, this can negatively impact a noteworthy number of people’s online experiences with an inundation of unnecessarily personalized advertisements, leading to privacy and mental problems in the long run.

In conclusion, although the practice of saving personal information on the Internet for daily activities may seem beneficial to a certain extent when it comes to the convenience of users, it can expose them to more significant drawbacks including the risk of cybercrime and aggressive targeted advertising. It is imperative and prudent for individuals to take into account online measures that allow them security and well-considered online information usage.