Today more people put their private information (address, telephone and plastic card numbers) online to do their daily activities (banking, shopping, socializing). Is it a positive or negative development?

In the area characterized by online activities namely online transactions, shopping and communicating, people have a tendency to provide their private information on the online platform. From my perspective, despite several merits, I contend that this tendency can be detrimental for online users.

The preponderance of updating personal information benefits can be the convenience. This can be seen that impulsive buyers can complete the order immediately through digital banking thanks to the personal information registered on e-commerce websites including home addresses and phone numbers, which can facilitate a smooth delivery order. Another salient advantage is for marketing agencies. Lots of public online private information can be a database tool assisting them in getting the customers’ insight ranging from demographic backgrounds to cultural foundations, as a result, businesses can target the products to enhance their marketing strategies and increase the customer’s engagement, which can lead to the escalation of their sales revenue.

Conversely, one can not eschew the potential determents of the reach of security by cyber-crimes. Online platforms can be pervaded by hackers; as a result, utilizers’ confidential information is prone to being abused or commoditized for fraudulent schemes without them knowing. For example, lots of customer care apartments make a purchase of data users from third parties, which can assist staff in consulting customers easier. Once the information is provided, providers’ activity could be tracked by the malicious parties, which can erode their privacy.

In conclusion, both agencies and users can make use of the online stage from their private information; however, the utilizer’s confidentiality can be revealed by the online crimes.